Psychiatrists cycle to mark launch of sustainable commissioning guidance

Tuesday, 27 October, 2015

Four NHS psychiatrists cycled from Oxford to London today to mark the launch of new guidance for mental health commissioners.

The four psychiatrists including Royal College of Psychiatrists (RCPsych) Registrar, Dr Adrian James were showing their commitment to sustainability in mental health by cycling 65 Miles from Oxford to London.

Dr Phil Davison, Dr Adrian James, Dr Julian Mason and Dr Mike Pearce were welcomed onto the podium by Dr. Geraldine Strathdee, National Clinical Director for Mental Health and Dame Sue Bailey, President of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges at the launch event for the Guidance for Commissioners of Financially, Environmentally and Socially Sustainable Mental Health Services, which was taking place at the Royal College of Nursing (RCN).

In addition to the launch of the commissioning guidance, the RCPsych, CSH, the RCN, the Royal College of General Practitioners and five other leading organisations* in mental health have pledged their commitment to a statement on the future of mental health.

“Sustainability in mental health care will deliver better outcomes for patients now and in the future, in the face of environmental, economic and social constraints”

All the organisations committing to the statement have pledged to:

  1. Reduce use of health care through preventative strategies
  2. Empower patients, carers and others to develop healthy, independent lifestyles (including self-management through personal and community support structures)
  3. Deliver high value care by providing the right care at the right time (ensuring the best care is delivered for the minimum resource use)
  4. Reduce the carbon cost of care (by considering carbon in every decision)

Dr. Geraldine Strathdee, National Clinical Director for Mental Health, NHS England said:

“This excellent and thought provoking guide supports commissioners, local health authorities and providers to think broadly, but practically, about building sustainable, resilient communities that have the potential, over time, to reduce mental ill health.”

*The Royal College of Psychiatrists, the Centre for Sustainable Healthcare, the Royal College of General Practitioners, the Royal College of Nursing, NSUN Network for Mental Health, British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy, Centre for Mental Health, Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) and the Mental Health Network NHS Confederation.